DIY String Art

DSC_0012This week, I used string art to make a simple décor item for our apartment. I love looking at Pinterest at how creative some people are with string art! I decided to just to something simple to start off with, so I’m going to give you a step-by-step of how I made a string art “P.”

 

Supplies I used:

Wood plaque, nails, string, chalk paint.

DSC_0962

I got the chalk paint and nails at Walmart and the wood plaque and string at Michael’s Craft Store. Overall, it cost me about $28. I also used some antiquing glaze (that I got at Lowe’s a while back for about $8) to give it a special look. Some additional supplies you might want are a piece of chalk or pencil, foam roller, soft bristle craft brush, and an old rag.

Step 1: Sketch out your design and block out the nail placement

I used a piece of chalk to sketch out my design. I drew lightly on the wood, and used a damp cloth to erase the chalkDSC_0970 when I messed up. You don’t want to get the wood too wet though, so erase sparingly. It’s okay if you don’t erase all mistakes; you will be painting over it anyway. Once I was happy with my design, I went ahead and put the nails in lightly around the edge of my design, just enough to block out the spacing and placement. I spaced the nails apart about 1/4″ and used about 49 nails total. Step 1 took about 15 minutes.

 

Step 2: Remove nails and add paint & glaze

I removed the nails, then used a foam roller to apply the chalk paint. I did 2 coats, letting it dry completely between each coat. Since I used the foam roller, the coats weren’t very thick and dried pretty quickly. It only took me about 30 minutes for both coats. Once the second coat dried, I added the antiquing glaze. I used a soft bristle craft brush to paint the antiquing glaze over the entire plaque, including the sides. After quickly covering the entire plaque, I took my old rag and wiped away the antiquing glaze. This will remove the majority of it, but the glaze that enters the cracks and crevices of the wood will stay, dirtying up the paint a little, giving off a worn, antique look. This took an additional 10 minutes.

DSC_0975   DSC_0992

 

Step 3: Add the nailsDSC_0991

After the glaze dried, I was able to put the nails back in the plaque. The holes I made earlier were visible through the paint, so this step was really easy. I left about 1/4″ of each nail sticking out of the plaque. This took about 10 minutes.

 

Step 4. Add the string

This step took about 20 minutes, but will vary depending on how much string is added. I didn’t want my string to look too thick, so it didn’t take me as long as it probably could have. I bough several colors of string, but decided just to use gray, aqua blue, and yellow. I started with the gray and tied it around one of the corner nails, knotting it several times. Once secure, I started winding the string around the nail heads throughout the design. I didn’t use a pattern or anything, just weaved it around each nail head several times. Once I thought I had used the gray thoroughly, I tied the string off around a different corner nail and trimmed the excess, then carefully pushed the string down on the nails to make room for the next color. I repeated this with the blue, then yellow, then the gray again, making sure to weave differently each time, until I liked they way it looked.

DSC_0998 DSC_0999 DSC_0001 DSC_0008

DSC_0999 DSC_0002

Step 5: Admire your masterpiece!

It was that easy! Enjoy making your own string art!

DSC_0010

 

blog signature

One thought on “DIY String Art

Leave a Reply

